Home » Research » Focus » Research Focus: Organic Chemistry

Research Focus: Organic Chemistry

Organic Chemistry builds upon on the central element of life, carbon. As a hub in a dynamic, collaborative department and university we design, synthesize, and study architecturally beautiful and functionally useful carbon containing compounds that range from new medicines to innovative polymers and materials for a greener world. At the University of Arizona, we provide our students with research opportunities in natural products total synthesis, peptide chemistry, chemical biology, polymer and materials chemistry. With an eye on translational science we work with partners, both academic and industrial, to maximize the societal impact of the chemistry that we develop. Students trained in our laboratories go on to successful careers in academia, government and industry to help develop the next generation of ground breaking drugs and materials to improve the world around us.

Faculty in this Research Focus Area

Robert Bates
Professor Emeritus- Retired
batesr@email.arizona.edu
520-621-6317

Hamish Christie
Assistant Professor of Practice
hamishc@email.arizona.edu
520-626-8311

Indraneel Ghosh
Professor
ghosh@email.arizona.edu
520-621-6331

Thomas Gianetti
Assistant Professor
tgianetti@email.arizona.edu
(520)626-3609

Richard Glass
Professor Emeritus - Retired
rglass@email.arizona.edu
520-621-2939

Henry Hall
Professor Emeritus - Retired
hkh@email.arizona.edu
520-621-6325

Victor Hruby
Regents Professor Emeritus - Retired
hruby@email.arizona.edu
520-621-6332

Christopher Hulme
Professor, Pharmacology and Toxicology
hulme@pharmacy.arizona.edu
520-626-5322

John Jewett
Assistant Professor
jjewett@email.arizona.edu
520-626-3627

Doug Loy
Professor
daloy@mse.arizona.edu
520-609-6021

Eugene Mash
Professor
emash@email.arizona.edu
520-621-6321

Wolfgang Peti, PhD
Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry-Med, Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry-Sci, Professor, BIO5 Institute
wolfgangpeti@email.arizona.edu
(520) 621-3489

Robin Polt
Professor
polt@email.arizona.edu
520-370-2654

Jeffrey Pyun
Professor
jpyun@email.arizona.edu
520-626-1834